Sign in to follow this  
ljlife

McGill vs Concordia for Undergraduate

I'm a CEGEP student applying to McGill for law, but I understand that there is a low chance I will be accepted. I'm not discouraged and I plan to do an undergraduate degree and re-apply to McGill AND other Univs.

Here are my choices of undergraduate programs:

Honours in Poli. Sci and Concordia University

Bachelor of Arts (will major in poli. sci at McGill)

Honours in poli sci concordia:

Pros-> Shows that I can handle a big workload, apparently easier to get a high gpa due to friendly environment and teachers..

McGill Bach. Of Arts (poli sci)

Pros--> Reputation...

Has anyone been an undergraduate student at these schools with the intention of going to law school and have an opinion on this?

Thanks!

Coming from a Concordia grad, go to McGill. You will have a much more pleasurable university experience. Just my 2 cents.

• Like 1

I don't think a poli sci degree looks better to law schools than any other (I could be totally wrong about this though). I did a political science degree and I think its utility is more how it benefits you when you get to law school than it is getting you into law school. Law school exams (from what I've been told, so again could be totally wrong) have no right or wrong answers and reward you for innovative, logical thinking in your responses and for applying relevant knowledge. Most exams I've written in political science have been a similar format.