shortyfabolous

Explaining bad transcript in articling interview

So I passed my bar...yay! 

Now i'm in the equally daunting process of finding an articling position (in Montreal)...well daunting for me as I have no legal experience and honestly embarrassingly awful grades. Been applying since the summer, and finally got a call for an interview this week at as small firm (i think around 10 lawyers). Finally, someone wants to at least interview me....right?

Anyways I just had a few questions so I can have some sort of plan for when i'm interviewed:

1. Do firms look at the complete application package we send them before they call us? I mean I sent my CV, cover letter, Bar transcript and University (University of Montreal) transcript. The only reason i'm asking is because as I've mentioned above my university grades sucked. I have a gpa of 2.4 and have like 6 Ds i think and failed 3 classes which I redid. The only reason I have a 2.4 is because I did a well in my first semester. I'm just worried they just looked at my C.V (I have work experience since the age of 16, in retail and banking but nothing exceptional) and decided they saw something and wanted to interview me based solely on that, without looking at my grades. I'm hoping I wont have to sit through an awkward situation of them initially liking me to a certain extent in person and then looking at my grades for the first time while they interview me and them going WTF at me......

which ties into question 2: