shortyfabolous

Practicing outside of Quebec, unable to do a J.D.

Hey guys,

I hope someone can offer a bit of advise for me...

I graduated with a Baccalauréat en droit from université de Montréal, but honestly finished with a horrid gpa (2.4). I know i screwed up, couldn't keep myself motivated or in check and slacked off, hence the crappy gpa.

I'm doing my quebec bar now, but I am getting increasingly nervous about job prospects. I know that with my grades getting a job in quebec in itself will be difficult, but now i can't even do a J.D. because i don't have the required gpa.

This may be a stupid question but is there anyway to get a legal job (and not as a paralegal, nothing against them) outside of québec without a J.D. Is there something like just transferring your licence after passing the bar and becoming a member of the quebec barreau? I'm talking about maybe transferring to Ontario (maybe working in T.O if someone will take me).

thanks for anyone who can help.

They will still ask for your grades and they will likely discriminate against your school. Lawyers will be looking for a school they know, which isn't something that Quebec schools can look for. The Toronto market is fairly filled as it is. You're likelier to find a job in Quebec than you are in Ontario.

I would look at smaller firms and contacts if I were you. It's not necessarily always just about grades. You won't be able to practice in Ontario as a lawyer without passing their bar. I believe the Quebec and Ontario bars are looking at signing some kind of transfer agreement, but I don't think it'll be available any time soon. I'd suggest to apply to a big number of firms, and look at family and friend contacts.

Hey guys,

I hope someone can offer a bit of advise for me...

This may be a stupid question but is there anyway to get a legal job (and not as a paralegal, nothing against them) outside of québec without a J.D.

thanks for anyone who can help.