Sign in to follow this  
lawlipop

Flexibility in the legal profession?

I am a law student with zero experience working in law, so forgive me if my remarks sound ignorant, but I am concerned about my future as a lawyer and would like some input from those more experienced or knowledgeable.

Although I am pursuing law I have a part-time career that is very fulfilling to me and which I intend to continue pursuing for the rest of my days.  I am not passionate about law and do not want it to dominate my life.  However, based on what I have heard and read, the legal profession does not strike me as being very flexible; in fact, it seems to be nearly all-consuming, so I am becoming increasingly concerned that I may have chosen the wrong profession....am I mistaken?

I should point out that I am not very ambitious for my legal career and I am not concerned about earning a lot of money.  I would be perfectly content making $40 000 to $50 000 a year as a lawyer, supplemented, of course, by my other career. 

Now if one is willing earn less as a lawyer, is there an option to work less at the same time???  Is it possible to work part-time?

If I were to pursue private practice could I not simply take on as few or as many clients as I want.  Would this apply to criminal defense, family law and personal injury, all of which interest me?

I am also attracted to the idea of being a lawyer in a small town, but perhaps this is a pipe dream?  I'm not from a small town for one thing, and for all I know it might be as difficult to bring in business as a sole practitioner as it would be to open up a restaurant, a nursery or any other entrepreneurial enterprise.

Any thoughts?

There's all kinds of flexibility in the practice of law, since you always have the option to go out on your own. That said, like any small business, going out on your own will be pretty all-consuming until you're established.