Hey all,

How much debt do you figure the average law student graduates with? How much does the average student begin law school with?

I am a undergrad student in my senior year and I am trying to project where I might be 4 years from now. 

Thanks! I appreciate it!

It depends so much on where you go to school and your personal experiences. I don't think hearing about other peoples' experiences will help you.

• Like 1

5 minutes ago, QuincyWagstaff said:

Seems high. 

Does it? almost every law student i know has maxed out their PSLOC which is capped at 100K, then add undergrad debt. 

100-150 seems about right. Higher if you're going to UofT or Osgoode.

• Like 2

Posted (edited)

This really all depends on your personal finances. How much do you have now? will your family contribute $$? (I don't really want to know- but they're clear factors)

If you're able to keep your overall debt under 100k, you're in a better situation than most. 

Edited by WindsorHopeful

9 minutes ago, TheScientist101 said:

Does it? almost every law student i know has maxed out their PSLOC which is capped at 100K, then add undergrad debt. 

I knew a lot of students that had their family foot the bill, for everything. Yes, many people borrow 100K plus, but there are people with zero.

• Like 2

33 minutes ago, Brookvale said:

Hey all,

How much debt do you figure the average law student graduates with? How much does the average student begin law school with?

I am a undergrad student in my senior year and I am trying to project where I might be 4 years from now. 

Thanks! I appreciate it!

Assume average tuition of $18000, lets say...

18000x3 = $54,000

If not living with family, very cheap rent is prob around $800 for a room, $500 food a month, $200 other expenses  a month (this is bare minimum calculation)

1500x24(this is 3, 8 months semesters) = $36,000

Add in 1000x3 for textbooks = $3000

Add in $3000 for some flights/travel

This adds up to $96,000.