haseeb432

Advice for UK student moving to Canada?(not a Canadian)

Hey everyone, thanks for reading my post!

I am a UK law student who was born in the UK, so I'm not going to UK for school and an easier degree. I want to move to Canada to practice as my girl and family are over there. I've seen a lot of discussion on the topic of Canadian students leaving, and the backlash thereof. 

My main question would be, what can I do to give myself a better opportunity when I move to Canada? I'm aware of the NCA process and the articling. I'm also aware that articling is gonna be difficult. Apart from all that I was hoping for some advice, thank you!

What law school? If you're at Oxbridge or somewhere with similar clout it's much less trouble than usual.

You also have the fact that you're actually British going for you. Unless of course you're born there, grew up here and went to undergrad here then went over - because then it still looks like you just couldn't cut it here so you took a back door (not passing judgement; just how it is).

I would emphasize that you're British during your search for articles then employment, so you don't get as much as a label as regular UK grads.

Yeah born and raised here. Going to University of Surrey. Okay makes sense, I see a lot of hate for UK grads, but I figured it was towards the cop-outs.

I've read that articling is almost impossible

Do a JD at Toronto or a professional LLM instead of the NCA exams to build your network and knowledge of CDN law -- if you're made of money or willing to take on loans.

And, with deference to your dry British wit, stop calling people cop-outs: there are 8 million stories in the naked city. This has been one of them:

http://lawstudents.ca/forums/topic/14139-ba-gpa-51-ma-gpa-77-lsat-58-forget-canada/

• Like 1

19 minutes ago, kcraigsejong said: