Hey all, 

For one reason or another I started to think about "firm perks". I realized that when I had interviewed as a summer student I would be brought on tours of the firms and as a "selling point" would learn about all of the perks the firm had. For example "we have Nespresso machines and unlimited pods on every floor!" or "We have box seats at x-arena and you can get tickets for events!". I discovered that, when interviewing as an associate I didn't get a tour and I was definitely not told about some of these cool perks (and I know that all of the places I interviewed, including the one I ended up with have some great ones!) 

Anyway - I thought I'd start the thread for those on the forum to share some of the best perks they've experienced at firms. It's nice to know what people are (or are not) getting. 

For myself - one of the best perks is the firm paying for after-hours food and, if necessary, my cab-ride home at night one of the great things is there is not a cut off time to take the cab - the policy is "if you don't feel safe, take the cab" - it doesn't need to be midnight for it to be justified (of course I'm sure if I took advantage of this I would be spoken to, but it's nice to know that if I'm here really late I can cab home if need be).  

At my old firm a great perk was drink night Thursdays - the firm supplied beer/wine/liquor and snacks every Thursday at 5pm for professionals to socialize. 

Another thing I've "heard" about on Bay Street is a Business Development budget that associates are given where they can expense going out to restaurants under "BD". I don't have such a thing at my firm, but I cannot believe how many times I've gone out with my colleagues for a drink and they'll say "no no, it's on the firm, we'll call it BD". I'm kind of jealous about that one. 

Any others?

Edited by TheScientist101
  • Like 1

Nespresso pods is not a selling point. Tell your firm to get a real machine.

• Like 13