GrainOfSalt

Studying law in Australia with the intentions of remaining there afterwards

Would greatly appreciate some input on the prospects of a Canadian student studying and practising law in Australia.

My situation: My significant(ly better) other is from Australia. Met here while she was on assignment (has been here for a few years now), is scheduled to go back to Aus next year. We are planning on getting married some time in the next 2-4 years. I'm still a student in my 3rd year of undergrad (mature student fwiw). I am open to moving to Aus but I would like to be better informed of the job prospects over there, particularly for a foreigner like myself. She is open to remaining in Canada, so we are just considering everything in its totality to see which of the two options would be best for us.

I would be much better informed about the prospect of moving to Australia if some members on this forum would be kind enough to address some of the concerns I have:

1) legal industry in Australia in general

2) Education system in Australia, particularly if it is tiered like the American law schools, or more uniform (in quality of education, etc;) like it is in Canada

3) Work life balance

4) Anything else I should consider but failed to mention

Thanks in advance, I know this is a total shot in the dark, but its worth a shot!

2 hours ago, GrainOfSalt said:

Would greatly appreciate some input on the prospects of a Canadian student studying and practising law in Australia.