chvrches

I graduated in May, should I even bother to keep applying?

I graduated in May, but was amongst a handful of the unlucky people in my class who couldn't find an articling position. The last interview I had was at the beginning of August. I've started looking at the possibility of articling for the 2018-2019 year, but it seems like a lot positions have been filled already, or there are positions available at smaller firms that aren't really accessible to me right now (I'm currently staying in a very small town that's hours away from the nearest city so it's not possible for me to put in a lot of legwork). Plus, having already graduated, I don't have as much access to my school's resources as I did when I was there. But, the biggest issue I think I'm facing is that firms are more likely to hire a new graduate as opposed to me. I feel like I've really missed my opportunity, which is just unbelievably frustrating (especially since my closest friends all found articles without much trouble and are now halfway through it and loving it). So, what do you guys think? Is there any genuine possibility of me finding articles, or should I just try to move on to something else (which at this point, financially, also seems like an impossibility, because there is another field that I'm interested in, but I can in no way afford to go back to school for it)?

What province? If you’re super stuck and in  Ontario there’s always the LPP.

Would you consider relocation? Like you said, there may be positions at smaller firms in some of the bigger city centers. I imagine you have a much better shot at some of these jobs if you are able to meet the lawyers/HR from the firms? Don't give up! I'm rooting for you!

26 minutes ago, Ryn said:

What province? If you’re super stuck and in  Ontario there’s always the LPP.

I'm from Atlantic Canada, but am willing to work in any province for at least the articling period. But I can't afford the LPP (or the cost of living in Toronto).