kimchis

Summer courses to raise GPA?

I'm in my 2nd year of undergrad as of right now and my GPA is not the most competitive due to personal reasons back in first year. I was thinking of doing summer courses to boost my GPA. Do law schools frown upon summer courses? Well first, do they even take this into consideration? Thank you in advance!

1 hour ago, kimchis said:

I'm in my 2nd year of undergrad as of right now and my GPA is not the most competitive due to personal reasons back in first year. I was thinking of doing summer courses to boost my GPA. Do law schools frown upon summer courses? Well first, do they even take this into consideration? Thank you in advance!

Some schools won't even take them into consideration so I'd do your homework before throwing $600 at a course you don't need. But if they do accept summer courses then I doubt that they'd frown upon them. 

However, considering that you're only in second year I wouldn't be too concerned about a rocky first year. Many law schools only consider the last two years of your undergrad, some the best three years. Either way you have the opportunity to pull up your socks and have a solid GPA in their eyes. 

• Like 1

13 hours ago, kimchis said:

Don't be discouraged. I had a 3.0 in first year but a 3.8 in second and a 3.9 in third. Currently on track for a 3.9 this year (4th and final year). You can always bounce back. Sure, my cGPA is still suffering from first year, but as the person above me mentioned, lots of schools look at B2, L2, B3, etc. I wouldn't worry about summer courses just yet. Good luck!

Edit - when I said 3.9 this year, I meant this semester. But obviously planning on maintaining that in the winter semester as well. 

Edited by Nabbo
  • Like 1

On 11/20/2017 at 12:06 AM, crh20 said:

Some schools won't even take them into consideration so I'd do your homework before throwing $600 at a course you don't need. But if they do accept summer courses then I doubt that they'd frown upon them.