I am in my final year of law school and thus have only used around $20,000 of my $100,000 line of credit. I received it at 3.2%. Now, it is starting to hit me that I only have access to this line of credit at this ridiculously low rate for another year. I feel like all law students have been given a gift in terms of access to capital (with no track record, other assets). 

I am thinking that the smartest play now would be to take out as much money as possible on the LOC and invest it elsewhere. Whatever returns I receive would likely cover the interest on the loan. Note that I have spoken to Bank reps about this (Specifically buying a house), and they said while they cannot directly encourage such behaviour, they note that a lot of students max out their lines of credit before they finish school for investment opportunities. 

Has anyone had experience with this or want to comment on this? I see a few options.

1. Buy a house... Most solid investment and safest I would say (long term). However if I was to do this I would be buying an investment property (to rent out) because I am articling in a different city that I would intend to buy in (familiarity). 

2. Stock Market - Obviously risky. I do have experience with this however and would stick to safe investments.

3. Mutual Funds... Max out RRSPs??? Not much experience here... Anyone want to comment? Is it a good idea to invest in mutual funds on your own without going to an advisor?

Thanks

8 hours ago, Douglas31 said:

I am in my final year of law school and thus have only used around $20,000 of my $100,000 line of credit. I received it at 3.2%. Now, it is starting to hit me that I only have access to this line of credit at this ridiculously low rate for another year. I feel like all law students have been given a gift in terms of access to capital (with no track record, other assets).