chaboywb

Admission Chances for Sept 2018

9 posts in this topic

cGPA: 3.55

L2: 3.54 (I had very little variation in my grades throughout undergrad other than a minor dip in fourth year due to some particularly difficult courses)

LSAT: 159

Softs: I'll be completing a research based MSc. next August. I have weekly volunteer work and summer jobs (one with the Canadian Border Services Agency). Nothing spectacular here, though.

LOR: Good, I hope.

Above all, I want to get into uOttawa. I've written my PS for them saying that I hope to study IP law (my major is biochemistry) and why I think Ottawa is my ideal environment for study and work. Plus, I know they value cGPA over LSAT score. I'll definitely be applying to Western, Queens and Windsor, as well.

I've plugged the numbers into the prediction tool and it looks good for Ottawa (and nowhere else), but all the threads that I've read include so many mature and access candidates, and I am neither so I don't know how much I can trust it. So I just wanted to gauge some people's opinions on whether I have a shot at my dream school and if there are any other schools in Canada I should consider. Outside of Ontario is fine with me. I'm registered to write the LSAT again in September but I don't feel confident I'll get my score up by much or at all, so I'm gonna assume at this point these stats will stand.

Thank you!

If you aren't sure about the LSAT, why not put it off? Ottawa (and most schools) look at the December LSAT. 159 isn't bad anyways.

If you did well in grad school, look at Alberta and Dal too, they count grad school grades in your average.

It could go either way for me. Not an immediate admit, and no one is throwing your application in the garbage. I like your chances, but I'm an overly optimistic person compared to some people who comment on admission chances.