dtor3

University of Toronto admissions

Hi,

I am new around here, and I am little confused. I am browsing "academic requirements" at UofT Law, and I can see that the GPA numbers are 84,86 and 88.

Namely, 25% of students accepted had an undergrad GPA of less than 84 percent. 50% of students had an undergrad GPA of less than 86 percent. And 75% of students had a GPA of less than 88 percent. 

So these are "percentile" GPAs and not letter grade GPAs.

Now, luckily I am a UofT student, and I do get percentile marks, but still I am confused as to how UofT computes above GPAs. 

a. i.e. I was just wondering how does UofT compute percentile mark GPAs for students that, say, come from York. Or better said, how does this statistic come into play with OLSAS CGPA calculations .

b. So. I am student at UofT. If I have in one class an 82% (A-) and in another class a 98% (A+). Both grades weigh the same. Does that mean that:

- for UofT purposes (see above GPAs published by UofT law as academic requirements), my average will be (82+98)/2 = 90% ---- therefore 4.0;a nd

- for other law schools, my CGPA will be (3.7 + 4.0)/2 -------therefore 3.85

Am I right, or am I missing something?

Thanks,

D.T.

Percentiles are different than percentages. Here's an explanation.

U of T uses OLSAS GPA to determine your application. All schools have a conversion to this scale (you can access a converter here). I wouldn't use actual percentages to figure out my chances. 

• Like 1

Thank you Ryn!

What you are saying makes sense.

What throws me completely off, is this: why does UofT law post GPA in percentages on their Admission Policies. Standards for Admission 2016-2017 page? Why don't they post the  academic requirements using OLSAS GPA (which is out of 4.0)? Anybody knows the answer to this?

Thanks!

D.T.

I can't say for certain but it's possible they do it because percentages are more immediately understandable to people than the OLSAS scale.