rure

Number of Canadians vs. Americans in Dual JD

13 posts in this topic

Does anyone know how many first-year Canadian students are there versus American students in Dual JD? I wonder whether there is a quota for each nationality. Also, is there any way to check if American applicants have received offers of admission to the Dual JD program - anyone know of a forum like this for UDM? Is the admission standard lower for Americans, considering their tuition fee is higher than for Canadians in the Dual JD program?

Posted (edited)

In the past, I have been told that the class has been composed of approximately 70% Canadian students and 30% American students, excluding a few international students. It is my understanding that they are trying to increase the proportion of American students.

I am an American student. I was admitted on the same day as april23jules (March 23rd), and I received my formal admission packet last Thursday (April 13th). I sent them my seat deposit last Friday!

Canadian and American applicants are each evaluated by the same admissions committee.

Tuition is the same for both Canadian and American students. It should be noted that the tuition is lower than most American schools, and it is higher than any other Canadian school. As a result, Canadian applicants may be more likely to be intimidated by the tuition. To the extent that the program has trouble attracting American students, it is likely due to UDM's status as a tier 4, unranked school (indicating a ranking below 150). Even though these rankings are assigned by US News & World Report (which is not a credible publication), they are taken very seriously in America.

Best,
BlueberryTimbit

Edited by BlueberryTimbit
3 people like this

26 minutes ago, BlueberryTimbit said: