Lawstudents.ca is Canada's largest and most comprehensive law school, legal education, and legal practice discussion forum.

To participate in discussions, you will need to register an account. If you already have an account, make sure you sign in.

Photo

I'm currently a student - Ask me anything

• Please log in to reply
52 replies to this topic

#1 Plinko

Plinko
  • Members
  • 298 posts

Posted 20 March 2016 - 01:50 PM

I noticed that many other school forums have AMA threads and I thought I would make one for Windsor Law. Many people have sent me PM with questions and I figured I would make a thread so others (including non LS members) have a chance to access the information.

I'm currently a 2L in the single JD program. I welcome any and all questions about the school, living in Windsor, and any other questions you may have.

I encourage other students to participate in answering questions as well. 

• Hegdis and rickyjulianbubbles like this

#2 jennaw

jennaw
  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 21 March 2016 - 06:40 AM

Hey! What did your schedule look like in first year?

#3 Plinko

Plinko
  • Members
  • 298 posts

Posted 21 March 2016 - 07:31 AM

In first year you will be divided amongst three sections, so class schedules will vary. I didn't have classes on Friday in the Fall Semester but I did in the Winter. It looked something like this:

Monday - 1:00-2:30

Tuesday - 1:00-2:30 , 5:00-8:00

Wednesday - 9:00am-12:00pm, 3:00-6:00

Thursday - 1:00-2:30

Again, your class schedule will depend on your section. I recall that one section had a lot of classes on Tuesday (3 classes) and less the rest of the week.

Here are the courses you will take in 1L (as a Single JD)

Contracts, Criminal Law, Property Law, Constitutional Law, Legal Research and Writing, Access to Justice (Fall) and Torts (Winter) 

Hope that answers your question!

#4 pinkroses

pinkroses
  • Members
  • 70 posts

Posted 21 March 2016 - 12:01 PM