Lawstudents.ca is Canada's largest and most comprehensive law school, legal education, and legal practice discussion forum.

To participate in discussions, you will need to register an account. If you already have an account, make sure you sign in.

Photo

I am Aboriginal, I am a lawyer - ask me anything

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 serdog

serdog
  • Members
  • 568 posts

Posted 20 March 2016 - 10:26 AM

Hi all,
I am pretty sure that every Aboriginal applicant in the last 5 years knows that I am willing to answer questions and that I am active in the applicate tread but here is my ask me anything. Remember in terms of the hard core practice management question we have experienced lawyer I'm new and set up a practice but I can answer from an aboriginal prepsective question on law school and articling .

Edited by serdog, 20 March 2016 - 10:27 AM.

• Diplock, erinl2, Hegdis and 6 others like this

#2 Diplock

Diplock
  • Members
  • 5411 posts

Posted 20 March 2016 - 07:57 PM

Very cool! More AMAs!

Since no one had ponied up a question yet (get it? ponied up??) I'll at least start.

How has legal practice affected (if at all) your Aboriginal identity? That is, I can imagine a person who maybe felt only lightly connected to their Aboriginal heritage (having done my share of Gladue submissions I've seen it) but having been admitted to law school on that basis forged more or a connection. I can also imagine someone drifting farther from it in the process of learning and practicing mainly "western" law.

Did you go to law school with any explicit intention to practice law in a way that incorporated Aboriginal issues? Did you end up doing so?

EDIT: Also, as a suggestion rather than a question, if I'm not mistaken you practice in a smaller community? Maybe you could talk more about that too, because there seems to be a lot of discussion here about major urban centres but not a lot about smaller markets.