Lawstudents.ca is Canada's largest and most comprehensive law school, legal education, and legal practice discussion forum.

To participate in discussions, you will need to register an account. If you already have an account, make sure you sign in.

Photo

community involvement/local connections

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Strictly80sJoel

Strictly80sJoel
  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 08 January 2016 - 11:56 PM

How important is community involvement for getting accepted? I'm in my 3rd year now and I'm not involved in any clubs or anything and I haven't done any volunteering since high school. Just wondering if i have a competitive LSAT/GPA how much having no community involvement would hurt me on my application.

Also how important is having a connection to UNB? My dad is from Fredericton, he went to UNB in the 80s, as well as his two brothers and sisters. We live in Ontario now, he moved after he graduated, but the rest of the family is still in Fredericton. How big a deal is this for my application? 

Could either of these two things make or break me?

Edited by Strictly80sJoel, 08 January 2016 - 11:57 PM.

#2 Hegdis

Hegdis
  • Moderators
  • 6940 posts
  • LocationBC

Posted 09 January 2016 - 01:03 PM

What are your stats? Impossible to predict chances without LSAT and GPA.

#3 Strictly80sJoel

Strictly80sJoel
  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 09 January 2016 - 01:44 PM

I don't know yet I'm only in my 3rd year of my undergrad and I haven't written the LSAT yet, I'm just say hypothetically assuming my stats end up being competitive how important are these other factors. 

#4 Hegdis

Hegdis
  • Moderators
  • 6940 posts
  • LocationBC

Posted 09 January 2016 - 02:27 PM

According to this (warning: pdf), it's usually a GPA/LSAT calculation only. Your ECs only factor in if you are a borderline applicant (ie there are many applicants with similar stats all near the cutoff who apply in the same year).