Neverender

People treating you differently since starting law?

186 posts in this topic

This is kind of a weird question, but has anyone noticed that people who aren't studying law have treated you differently (worse) since you started law school? This is beyond just playful joking about lawyers being dishonest or something. I've noticed that as soon as someone asks me what I'm studying and I answer with "law," their attitude towards me shifts drastically. I expected no one to care one way or the other. Instead people seem to be caught off guard and awkwardly say something like "oh... wow." Everyone congratulates me as if it's some huge accomplishment, but from that point on it's like there's a wall that goes up between us. I've had people get defensive seemingly out of nowhere about what they're doing/studying, as if that by saying I study law, what I'm really saying is "I think I'm better than you." In times where I've had a minor disagreement with someone, I've gotten passive-aggressive responses along the lines of "well you probably know better than I do, it's not like I'm in law school.

It doesn't help that I've always been a very quiet person. Before people would see that I wasn't talking much and would just think I was shy, which often made them like me more. Now if I'm quiet around people who know I'm in law school, it seems like they assume I'm arrogant and don't want to talk to them. I've had tons of other weird encounters where people seem to be put off by me studying law but it's too much to get into in detail here.