Lawstudents.ca is Canada's largest and most comprehensive law school, legal education, and legal practice discussion forum.

To participate in discussions, you will need to register an account. If you already have an account, make sure you sign in.

Photo

Is the LSAT hard for "mathematically-challenged people"

• Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 jhoop15

jhoop15
  • Members
  • 71 posts

Posted 20 January 2011 - 11:15 PM

I realize that the LSAT is mostly based on logic and I have a few misgivings about this. I've never been too good at math (did not take Pure Math 30) and am currently pursuing an arts degree, which is lightly concerning. I'm in my second year and so far have a 3.48 GPA; thus, I'll probably need to do quite well on the LSAT.

Obviously, everyone is different but I would like some advice from people with similar backgrounds.

#2 lookingaround

lookingaround
  • Members
  • 101 posts

Posted 21 January 2011 - 04:21 AM

Logic =/= math. My math is dire, and I got a 169 - learnt formal logic and argumentative structure in philosophy, which is about as far away from math as you can get...

#3 Rechtsanwalt

Rechtsanwalt
  • Members
  • 231 posts
  • LocationToronto

Posted 21 January 2011 - 08:09 AM

I don't know if you can say that formal logic is 'as far away from math as you can get', but in any event, those not mathematically inclined can still excel on the LSAT. Anecdotally, however, those people I know who get the 170+ scores are the ones who have some math-based background (engineering, commerce, economics).

#4 Mandrake

Mandrake
  • Members
  • 103 posts
  • LocationUNB

Posted 21 January 2011 - 11:16 AM